Goblin closure

11 Apr

On the subject of local rail travel, the Goblin – the Gospel Oak to Barking line on the London Overground – will be closing in June for eight months. This will allow Network Rail to electrify the route. 

Once the work is done TfL plan to introduce new four-carriage electric trains to replace the existing two-carriage diesel units. This will double passenger capacity and relieve the dangerous overcrowding we currently endure during peak times, though not until early 2018. When the line re-opens it will initially be served by the existing, inadequate trains. TfL claims retraining drivers to use an alternative type of electric train for “just 11 months” until the new ones are delivered is cost-prohibitive.

Ahead of the closure TfL staff will be holding a series of drop-in sessions to meet passengers, answer questions and provide details of alternative travel arrangements:

  • Barking, Monday 18 April, 16:00 to 19:00
  • Woodgrange Park, Tuesday 19 April, 16:00 to 19:00
  • Wanstead Park, Wednesday 20 April, 16:00 to 19:00
  • Leytonstone High Road, Thursday 21 April, 16:00 to 19:00
  • Leyton Midland Road, Friday 22 April, 16:00 to 19:00
  • Walthamstow Queens Road, Monday 25 April, 16:00 to 19:00
  • Blackhorse Road, Tuesday 26 April, 16:00 to 19:00
  • South Tottenham, Wednesday 27 April, 16:00 to 19:00
  • Harringay Green Lanes, Thursday 28 April, 16:00 to 19:00
  • Crouch Hill, Tuesday 3 May, 16:00 to 19:00
  • Upper Holloway, Wednesday 4 May, 16:00 to 19:00
  • Gospel Oak, Thursday 5 May, 16:00 to 19:00

If you’re a regular user of the Goblin it will be well worth going along.

On a related topic, the 2016 annual general meeting of the Barking – Gospel Oak Rail User Group will take place at 19:00 hours, concluding at 20:30 hours on Wednesday, 27th April in committee room 2 at Barking Town Hall, which is approximately a 5 minute walk from Barking station.

More information about the group can be found on its website.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: